The City of Arlington City Council acts as the legislative branch of our government, as well as its policy-making body. The Council looks to the city's goals, major projects and infrastructure improvements ranging from community growth to land use to finances and strategic planning. The Council's goal is to do the very best to represent their constituents after they've seen to the needs of the city as a whole. The Council is responsible for approving the budget and determining the tax rate and formulating broad long-term policies that outline the City's public function.

The Arlington City Council meets on the 3rd Wednesday of every month. Meetings are held at City Hall and begin at 6pm,

Current Council members:

Alan Shaffer

Diane Bond

Cody Kraus

Greg Fedeler

Jake Daisy


Frequently Asked Questions

How do I become a council member?

Council members are elected during regular City elections held every two years. Council members have staggering 4 year Terms. Contact City Hall for more information regarding the election process. Information is also available on the Iowa Secretary of State's website at